Aside

Kenya in about 500 words

I have always thought of myself as a flexible human being, one who can adapt to any situation and get along with most people, and I definitely know that I am not a high maintenance kinda gal!!!

KENYA, however, has taught me a few valuable lessons, as travelling usually does…

On an average trip I come back with a new insight of who I am, I learn from the people I meet and study a different way of life as I immerse myself into a culture of what the country actually is.

The last 4 weeks has been different, I sit here physically, mentally and emotionally exhausted after 4 weeks of  intense work, moving apartments about 3 times, being shuffled in and out of offices all day while trying to keep up with an almost impossible deadline and then of course squeezing in an occasional sightseeing trip to make the working week feel a little lighter. It’s as though I voluntarily jumped onto a rocky ship and allowed myself to be thrown around based on other peoples flawed decisions, but this isn’t a ship and nature isn’t  causing this, which means that I did not have to accept it, and that is where my lesson comes in, at the risk of sounding like a drama queen to my new collegues, I had to stand my ground, develop boundaries and be strong enough to stick to it. To my surprise, this lead to better friendships and more respect at work.

I also felt antsy about the fact that, there is no line drawn between work and home while on a work trip, we all live close to each other and it’s become, as one of my colleagues put it, a melrose place type of set up. You become a family, and it’s a typical situation of “You can’t choose family” I have encountered various energies here, so it took some time to pick my crowd. These are the people you work with, these are the people you hang with after hours and as much fun as it is, I miss that line that I typically keep between work and home. Thankfully I get along with most, so I choose where I’d like to be, either a movie with the girls, a weekend away in the bush with a spiritual connection (always meet one of those when I travel), live music nights with the boys or a salsa night by myself to feed my soul, dance and meet other Kenyans…

I think I have made this place a home after the rocky start that it was.

Kenya on the whole is a beautiful place, there is a constant buzz through the streets, sometimes hard to fall asleep as the Matatu’s drive by, however I feel safe here, the people are much more humble then we are in South Africa, I am yet to find a dish that I don’t like, and I have to mention the super fast wifi!!!

My Lesson: No matter how toxic an environment you walk into is, it is important to come with your own light, and never allow anyone to dim that spark. Know who you are, nurture that person and never be afraid to show it, so that no matter where in the world you end up, you will always attract your own tribe.

Leave a Reply

