I be Flying in the fast lane!!

lifes-too-short

Life is too short to be little. Man is never so manly as when he feels deeply, acts boldly, and expresses himself with frankness and with fervour.  ~Benjamin Disraeli

Everyone grows at their own pace, people reach puberty at different stages, they study at different levels, some people fall in love at 13 and others when they are 60, we make life decisions based on our own stage of maturity, financial situation and where we place ourselves in society. All of this is great, if we were all left alone to do our own thing, if our choices didn’t affect the people we love and there was no such thing as expectations, deadlines, parents who think they know what’s best and the beast of them all SOCIETY… Who came up with this society nonsense? Why do people care so much about what others think of them? Why do we worry so much about fitting in?

I was brought up in little Indian communities all my life, and I am grateful that my mum is open minded, because if she made me follow rules like everyone else, I probably would have ended up, in a career that I hated, living a boring life where everything is in place, nothing goes wrong and nothing that keeps me thinking on my feet, as nice as this sounds, it is boring as hell! I have seen people living this life, they have no passion, no drive for life, there is nothing that makes waking up every morning worthwhile, because what’s the point of waking up at all, if you’re planning on going to the same place to work from 9 to 5 until you turn 60. Is that purpose? Is that why we were placed on this beautiful planet? To slog away and make millions for a huge company and in a blink of an eye, you’re dead, and get this, you’ve done NOTHING, you have done Nothing that feeds your soul, you’ve experienced absolutely nothing.

We are not built to conform, as human beings, we are designed as free creatures, who wants to explore and try new things, but because of society and worrying about what people think, we put ourselves through this unnecessary stress of, I cannot fall in love with this person because of what everyone will say, I cannot upload certain photo’s because of who might be watching, I cannot work as a waitress even if I am broke as hell, because that job title is demeaning, I cannot leave the house without make up. It’s too much man. I cannot understand why people stress themselves like this. If everyone took off their masks and showed who they really are, and people learn to not judge and accept others for who they are, we’d be living in such a dynamic place.

I am known not to conform, and I have broken almost every rule that society has created, because, I’d like to think that, I am open to new things, I don’t judge a situation till I am in it, I understand that life is too short to care about opinions of people who think they are perfect, this has left me surrounded by only genuine people, the friends I have are real. I surround myself with people who are positive, who celebrate my success as I do theirs, people who aren’t competing with me, and I try to eliminate the ones who don’t contribute to my growth, ones who brings me down. We need to learn be strong and mature individuals who can see what’s good for us and what’s not and being strong enough to make tough decisions of cutting out the bad influences or even people who hurt us even though we know we love them.

We are all moving at our own pace, some are crawling, some are walking, some are driving, some are cruising in the slow lane and others flying in the fast lane, at the end of it all, life is too short to walk when you’re meant to fly, or fly when you’re not ready to walk yet, just be yourself, go at your own pace and focus on what makes you happy without worrying about others opinions.

Leave a Reply

